“My parents and grandparents are the reason I can proudly say I love who I’ve become”..See who inspires our fellow, Marisse!


“My FAMILY is the reason I am who I am, I do what I do, and I am where I am.”-Marisse Padron

Mentor Up Fellow, Marisse Padron (left); Joined by sister and grandfather on the right.

Mentor Up Fellow, Marisse Padron (left); Joined by sister and grandfather on the right.

I have learned my family is my best friends. They mean the world to me. Being raised in a Cuban Family, there have always been values and morals that have been passed on from generations. Yet, my parents have different ideas since they escaped from a communist country. Their opinions have definitely had an impact on me. They are constantly reminding me that they came to America to live out their dreams and that’s exactly what I am doing. They taught me how important it is to give back to the community, so I volunteer weekly. They always tell me to never give up and I still haven’t.

If I were to list the characteristics I have gained from my family, I’d be here for hours. Truth is, my parents and grandparents are the reason I can proudly say I love who I’ve become. Everything they did and continue to do will never be forgotten. Each action and word, though minor, has impacted me in a positive way. My family molded me into a determined young lady who never stops till I reach my goal. They gained freedom. Now it is my turn to achieve my dreams.

My parents have always been there for my twin sister and me. From helping us with projects to teaching us how to drive, my parents have constantly been helping me throughout my life.

My grandparents, however, are the one’s who raised me. Every day from ages 3-13, my grandparents picked me up from school. Once I’d get to their house, they would have a snack ready for me to eat. After I ate my snack, I would shower and do homework! I still have that routine today. It was this discipline at an early age that made me the strong, organized woman I have become.

My grandparents were always there for me, which is why I rejected my dream college acceptance so I could stay and study near home. The purpose was to see my grandfather weekly. Though he is no longer with us, I know that my decision was worth it. In the same way that he was there when I needed him the most, I was there when he needed someone by his side. I believe that the “key” to a happy life is an open “lock”. One must be willing to have an open-mind which will lead to open arms from those whose lives he or she touches!

Leave a Reply

