Why is March important? My grandfather said, “It’s the third month in the year”…


Yesterday, I was daydreaming and the thought of being a woman crossed my mind… I curse the fact that I’m a woman some days (usually once a month) but I wondered if being a woman is celebrated…kinda.

So I played around with the idea of National Women’s History Month and what it means to me? Does anybody really know what the month of March represents? Do you even care? Why have this national month recognized if we as a nation don’t do anything with it? Pointless right?

So then, I realized that at one point in time, this month did indeed mean something to someone… just not my generation..right? As my wheels continued to turn, I wondered if my grandparents even gave the month of March to celebrate women, a second thought.

Yes, I said “grandparents”.

It’s easy for my grandmother to care…I mean hello! She’s a woman. But, do men care? Should we hold them to the same standard? After all, I’d like to hope that my grandfather celebrates the things his mother, his wife, stepdaughters, granddaugthers, etc, did/are doing.

So… Long story short, I interviewed them both…TOGETHER…to compare and contrast their feelings on Women’s History Month. What’d they say? You’d have to read it to believe it because I CAN NOT make this up

This interview was conducted by myself… I’m Ayanna (of course). The interviewees? They’re my grandparents, Margaret (60) and Norman (61) Davis, Jr.

A: Okay guys! I have 7 questions for you but I can’t tell you the background because it’ll give everything away. So, you all ready?
M: Oh Lord… Ok I guess *chuckles*
N: Yep! I’m ready.

A: Alright. Do either of you know what the month of March represents?
N: Uh… Let’s see… It’s the 3rd month of the year.
M: *laughs* Um no. It is actually Colon Cancer Awareness month.

Now… I expected my granny’s answer to be health related since she’s involved with health. As for my grandfather, I expected him to say “the month before my birthday” because we’re both April babies;)…but I DIGRESS

A: Actually the answer I was looking for was National Women’s History Month. But your answers work too *giggles*.
N: Well I knew that but I didn’t think it was appropriate.
M: Mhmm you didn’t know Norman. I knew but since I concentrate on health, I assumed.

A: So, what exactly does this mean to you?
M: It’s an opportunity to celebrate the contributions that women have made to this society.
N: It recognizes accomplishments of women as it relates to America.

A: Hmm interesting. On a scale of 1-10, how important is it to you?
N: 1 being the lowest right?
A: Yes
M: Well. I say 10! I’m a woman and women are the backbone of this world. Without us there would be no men.
N: *scoffs* You didn’t have to do all that. 8 I guess. I don’t want to over glorify it and you’re biased, Margaret. I’m looking at it out of the other recognized events in March. I mean I wouldn’t put women’s history over health. Now according to the rest of the country, it’s way down the totem pole. I would say 5<. It's unfortunate. Men have all the key positions. Women in top positions catch the most hell. There's a target on their back.

A: So, why do you think it’s not celebrated heavily?
M: Well, the world focuses on men. We live in a society that values men and their accomplishments. It should be recognized more.
N: I agree. It’s also, dealing with how women are perceived in the workplace.

A: Okay. Last question. What can the current/future generations do to increase awareness for Women’s History Month?
N: There aren’t enough women in the forefront. It’s worthy to be celebrated and it’s not getting any traction.
M: Men are in charge. You all have got to bring in more women leaders. You can’t eradicate the problem without embracing women in power.

I took a lot more than the importance of National Women’s History Month, from this interview.

Initially, I wanted to push why people should be more aware. But now, I think I have a slight solution to the “fear” of women in power and celebrating their accomplishments.

My grandparents may have disagreed, but they were always a unit. My grandfather, although he didn’t know what March represented, understands that my granny is a woman and celebrates the things she’s done and what she’s doing. He’s not threatened by the fact that she has her own opinion.

In my opinion, my generation lacks unity between the sexes. Respect… Unity… Consistency… We don’t really have that now.

My challenge to you? Take the time to sit with someone 50+ and learn how they celebrate the opposite sex. What’s important to them? What did they learn from each other? It’s a step in the right direction to bridging the gap.

Leave a Reply

