“I am a Woman. Phenomenally. Phenomenal Woman, that’s me”


“Pretty women wonder/ where my secret lies./ I’m not cute or built to suit/a fashion model’s size/But when I start to tell them, They think I’m telling lies.

I say/ It’s in the reach of my arms/ The span of my hips/ The stride of my step/ The curl of my lips/ I’m a woman/ Phenomenally./ Phenomenal woman, that’s me.

I walk into a room/ Just as cool as you please,/ And to a man/ The fellows stand/ or fall down on their knees./ Then they swarm around me, A hive of honey bees.

I say/ It’s the fire in my eyes/ And the flash of my teeth/ The swing in my waist/ And the joy in my feet/ I’m a woman/ Phenomenally/ Phenomenal woman, that’s me.

Men themselves have wondered what they see in me/ They try so much/ But they can’t touch/ My inner mystery/ When I try to show them/ They say they still can’t see.

I say/ It’s the arch of my back/ The sun of my smile/ The ride of my breasts/ The grace of my style/ I’m a woman/ Phenomenally/ Phenomenal woman, that’s me.

Now you understand/ Just why my head’s not bowed/ I don’t shout or jump about/ Or have to talk real loud/ When you see me passing/ It ought to make you proud.

I say/ It’s in the click of my heels, the bend of my hair/ the palm of my hand, the need of my care/ ‘Cause I’m a woman/ Phenomenally/ Phenomenal woman, that’s me”

“Phenomenal Woman” by Maya Angelou

Today’s Word Association Wednesday and what better word to have for National Women’s History Month, than Phenomenal.

As a woman, I strongly believe that being a woman is phenomenal by itself. A lot is asked of us constantly and I don’t even have children yet. I mean…women give birth to babies… That’s phenomenal enough. Wait… women have menstrual cycles… okay, you all get the picture.

I chose this word for this reason. March is the month of the woman. This includes mothers, wives, grandmothers, aunts, nieces, daughters…YOU NAME IT! Women are powerful and it’s nice to have a month to see that.

BUT, back to business. The word, phenomenal is defined as:

  • very remarkable; extraordinary
  • borderline miraculous

Do you realize how many women, 50+ have influenced us? There are so many women who are phenomenal and then some. There’s Maya Angelou, who wrote one of the most popular poems, “Phenomenal Woman”. She’s phenomenal through poetry. There’s Hilary Clinton, who’s been named one of the most influential female politicians of our time. She’s phenomenal for excelling at what has been known as a “man’s job”. There’s Yoko Ono, who’s a phenomenal Japanese artist and peace activist. The list is endless of phenomenal women…

I asked my Granny Margaret who she felt was a phenomenal woman. “Besides Eva (her mother)? Rita Moreno or Phylicia Rashad. I mean with Rita Moreno, look at her accomplishments as an actress, dancer and so much more. She was able to have a very successful career and she pushed the envelope as a Hispanic woman. It’s amazing”

My other grandmother, Mary was more than thrilled to talk about phenomenal women. “Besides my mother, I would pick Ellen Johnson Sirleaf or Golda Meir. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf was Africa’s first elected female head of state. Do you realize how powerful that is? It’s amazing how far we’ve come as a sex. Women can do so much more now than we could then. It’s shocking how powerful women are”.

It’s interesting to me. All of the phenomenal women I recognized are in my family. I come from movers and shakers…dreamer and believers…they do so much with so little.

Being a woman is more than being a mother or daughter or auntie. Being a woman, for me, represents strength and courage and ambition and leadership. Yes, it’s difficult…of course…but there’s so much good that comes from it.

Phenomenal women aren’t just famous. They could be a firefighter or a teacher or construction worker…anybody.

Want an interesting conversation with a 50+ woman? Ask her who she thinks is a phenomenal woman, whether it be from her time or now? Take this month and every day after, to make any older woman in your life feel as phenomenal as you believe they are.

Leave a Reply

