“I try my best to abide by the golden rule, and volunteering certainly falls under that principle”-Lina


When I think of volunteering I just think of helping someone out. To me it means going out of your way to help and think of someone else. I see it as being intentionally nice, without a hidden agenda.

It doesn’t have to be under an official event or organization, although it can be!!

But “volunteering” can be holding the door, or elevator for someone you see coming. It can be paying for the Starbucks for the person behind you. Or — even letting a car get into your lane, during traffic? ha ha

On a more serious note, volunteering is very important because I believe it is a way of life. I try my best to abide by the golden rule, and volunteering certainly falls under that principle.

My most meaningful volunteer experience occurred over Christmas break actually. I got to spend a day with my grandpa who played a purple santa. Myself, my cousin Emily and our Gramps, went to a nursing home with Alzheimer’s TN inc and gave out gifts to the residents. Emily and I were Gramps’ elves. It was memorable to me because it was with my family who I don’t get to see very often, and the residents were very receptive and so kind. They spread their joy to me, and it is a memory I will cherish forever!

Leave a Reply

