Birthdays are for reflection… I’m taking my 23rd birthday to do so :)


So…I’m 23 today …sheeeeeeesh…23?! Where on Earth did the time go?!?! I was just going to Senior Prom…and graduating from high school…and getting accepted to Howard…I mean…WHAT HAPPENED?!

Anyway… I’m trying something new this year…I wanna reflect on the simple things…it seems as if my life is getting a tad harder with every year…”and guess what? It’s not gonna get any easier from here”… Yeah, thanks Mom.

I’ve been thinking about the choices I’ve made…and how that’s panned out (ha! Oh, the hilarity of my decision making skills-_-)…and I’ve noticed who’s been there for me and who..just..hasn’t..

They say your 20’s are when you’re supposed to discover who you really are…and I am FOREVER evolving it seems like…so unstable, it’s quite hilarious…I can feel myself morphing into this woman that’s like…my granny Mary…and my granny Margaret…and a WHOLE lot like my grandmas, Eva and Lois…it’s cool…scary, but cool nonetheless…

I never saw my personality being shaped this way…It’s like I’m outspoken at times and I can be so nice…but I like that I can be witty and funny…I like having a backbone…and being confident…just…like…my grandmothers…It’s SO strange.

I think it’s funnier that my boyfriend and my friends are all…”You act just like Margaret!”…or “OMG you’re just like Mary”…I’m so blended though…

Anyway… I’m rambling…ha! I tend to do that a lot…

You know they always remember my birthday? And they all call me…in this bizarre order… Like…Mary will either call me at midnight or at noon or at 6… Margaret usually calls me around 9 or 10 AM… my great grandmothers? Yeah they always call me after 2 PM but never after 6PM… Every year…it’s the same thing.

And it never gets old… I think it’s funny because I’m always amazed at the fact that they NEVER forget my day.

Mary? Yeah she has other grandkids to worry about…on top of all of her engagements with the community and things… Guess what? She never misses my birthday… And I’m sure it doesn’t have anything to do with me being her favorite;)…I kid, I kid.

Margaret? She has it the hardest I think… My birthday is April 13th…My grandfather’s birthday(her husband)? April 18th… Her son-in-law’s birthday? April 26th…There are times where I’m like “oh crap I almost forgot their birthdays”…Not her. She never forgets my day…and most of the time…well, actually all the time…she sends a card…maybe even more

My great grandmothers, Eva and Lois? They’re just always on their A game…Eva is 93..Lois is 83.. Yeah, they always remember my birthday.. Even with sickness…or yoga class (haha don’t ask)… They still make time for me… And they have children…and grandchildren…and great grandchildren…Still remember my day.

I’ve realized that there should never be a time where I feel “unloved”. People MY age, forget birthdays…I mean, I don’t even know what day of the week it is half the time…but it seems like our grandparents live for remembering these moments…

I could be having the worst birthday ever (but I wouldn’t know how that feels)…and all I really need is for them to call me…that’s it…that’s what birthdays are about…

It’s my day of birthday…and it’s pretty awesome that I’m important enough to be remembered.

Leave a Reply

