“Boys and Books Don’t Mix”-Grandma…


grandma haynes

She was always straight forward… Had no filter… Some would even say blunt. But Eva Mae Haynes was by far the sweetest woman you’d ever meet…

She possessed many characteristics.. She was smart, funny, confident, loving, stern, forgiving, dependable…the list just goes on…

I had the opportunity to borrow this angel from God for 22 years… Most people my age don’t get to experience their great grandparents like I did… I’m considered one of the “lucky ones”… On April 9, 2014, God decided he was ready for her to join Him…yeah, it hurts but there’s peace in knowing that she’s finally taking that long awaited break that she deserves…

There’s so much I can say ABOUT her…but I wanted to take this time to talk TO her… hope you all don’t mind…

 

Grandma,

Two things. First, you’re funeral yesterday…was probably the most beautiful event I’ve been able to witness. I had no idea you knew so many people! I think you would have been proud of the turn around your kids did… It was short notice but they pulled it off… and you looked soooo good… You had your curls like usual and your dress was nice AND you had those earrings from mommy’s wedding… So fly…per usual… you’re make up was flawless…never would’ve guessed you were 92…

Anyways…everybody was on their best behavior. No drama…and we all bonded, which is something I know you’ve always wanted…you were always the one who brought us together…

Now…I kinda need to vent a little…

I wasn’t around much…well not this past year anyway… I kinda let my job and school and money woes…get in the way of me spending time with you… I’m really sorry about that… BUT you’ll be happy to know I’ll definitely be done with school on December…and walking across the stage in May… took me long enough right?… oh, and I’m currently searching for my own church to go to… The one we talked about..the one I used to go to… is too far now… oh and the internship I told you about?…the one I’m working with now? I’m trying to turn that into a job…hopefully I can…because you and I both know I enjoy it and it helps me…I couldn’t give you a lot of time while you were here…but I have a set of my goals and your goals put together on a list…I’m gonna complete them…I promise.

You’ve asked much of me….well, just for me to graduate and get my career together and travel and meet a nice boy and settle down and get married and maybe have kids…but I gotta be married first…and love God and love people as God would want… See? Not much. I think I can swing that. But I’m not sure about that baby part…but you know that already…but you were SO right…boys and books DON’T mix…

I really need your help…I wanna be at least half of who you were…not even half…a fourth. I just want you to be proud of me…and you always said “I’m always proud of you…stop putting pressure on yourself”…I just hope you keep an ear open for me to talk to you sometimes…I could always talk to you…about everything…I just know you’re having fun up there…tell Grandpa I said “Hi” and I’m graduating for him too…I love you…and thanks for being a part of my life…it’s an honor to be a part of your legacy…I miss you dearly, but I’m glad you can finally relax…

-Ayanna

I cannot stress enough for all of you to spend as much time with someone 50+ now…Now is the time… There’s much we can give them… And so much we can gain… Granted my grandma only let me help her with her cell phone…but that’s something!

Just take the time…

Leave a Reply

