Working. Mentoring. Learning. – Routinely Mentoring Up


The other day Mentor Up had conversation with Brooke Libby, the SNAP Outreach Coordinator in Maine. Brooke gave us a little insight into what she does, and why she does it.

By the end of the conversation, it was very clear to us that Brooke is Mentoring Up…whether she knows it or not!

Here’s what she told us:

 

“I got involved with this because I feel SNAP is a worthy cause. Hunger is a worthy cause.

Most of my volunteers are young people. I think the youngest was 21, and the oldest was in their 60s.

Most are in their 20s and early 30s though.

 I think volunteers get involved because they really believe that hunger is a serious issue, especially related to the older population. It’s a silent issue. They are really concerned with getting people connected with the services that will help them.

 I think the volunteers’ experience has been positive. Client surveys are at 100% …and they keep coming back to volunteer!

Seeing people Mentor Up in any fashion is great!

But we especially love seeing people Mentoring Up as part their day-to-day lives.

These people innately reach out and help without thinking twice about it.

Brooke and her volunteers are those types of people!

“I really do enjoy the work. For me, I am very passionate about this issue. This is one way I can do my part in my community.

 The best thing about it is working with the clients.

Working with people and hearing their stories.

It’s amazing to get to know these individuals. It’s the people that make this job worth it.

 I’ve also always worked with kids. That’s part of the reason I took this position.”

Brooke goes on to tell us that working with older people is a much different experience than working with younger people.

“There are challenges and benefits to working with both.

Technology can be an issue.

Situations are more complicated.

 You have to be more sensitive with how you communicate.

But you hear some amazing stories. They’ve experienced so much and you can learn so much from them.

I’m only 23 and I can learn a lot…”

Leave a Reply

